top of page

5 Easy Steps to Curb Unwanted Behaviors

Dogs are keen observers, emotionally intelligent and highly trainable. Dog do however communicate differently than you or I. They observe and take in what is all around them without end. You are training them every minute of every day. Usually without even being aware of it. Most often I hear stories like, "He keeps stealing my shoes!" or, "She chases the squirrel across the street everyday, I'm terrified she is going to get hit." In my head I'm thinking, of course they are! Why wouldn't they?!


Dogs are very parallel to children in how they look at the world. Some have the "leap not look" mentality while others are more slow to warm. Either way, they are looking for the game to be had in every situation. Chasing a squirrel is fun. You chasing after them is also fun. It just so happened they had your shoe in their mouth first before the game began. Fido just learned how to get you to play chase! Bonus, shoes taste delicious.


Of course I am not suggesting you allow your dog to chew shoes or put themselves in danger by running impulsively across the street. However, if you look at the situation playing out through your dog's eyes, you will be shocked at how many "naughty" behaviors are actually being reinforced. Instead, you can learn to redirect behavior into something you WANT repeated and give realistic boundaries for your dog to follow.

Intrigued? Read on my dog friends.

5 Easy Steps, Stopping Unwanted Behavior
.
Download • 387KB


54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page